01
Feb
11

Microsoft acquires Kinect Halo domain, could it be a reality?

Microsoft has secured the rights to KinectHalo.com, CVG reports.  The KinectHalo.com Whois page confirms that Microsoft acquired the page on June 14, 2010.

This is certainly an interesting development, but could Microsoft really be developing a “Halo” title for Kinect, or were they merely acting preemptively to get the site before anyone else does in case they do decide someday to create the title?

The Kinect as it exists today is certainly capable of shooting or even grenade throwing actions, but current “Halo” titles require the ability to move around inside of a level — something no Kinect games currently allow for.

The notion of an on-rails “Halo” title for the Kinect is intriguing, for sure, but that sounds less like a core title and more like an arcade version of “Halo,” which may or may not do the franchise justice.

All speculation aside, only time will tell whether or not “Halo” will be developed for the Kinect.  What do you think, dear readers?  Would you play Kinect-enabled “Halo?”

Image Credit: Bungie
8 Responses to “Microsoft acquires Kinect Halo domain, could it be a reality?”


  1. 1 Gil
    February 1, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    I’ll be honest. I don’t know about this. I’m not a Kinect hater or anything but like KB said, “Can you imagine gaming without buttons? Where would the control come from? You couldn’t snipe. You couldn’t fire any sort of weapon at all, really. Unless you turn your fingers into a gun. Pew! Pew! What are we, mimes?!?”

    I just think that converting a FPS to a buttonless game might be… unwise. Even if you are using the name Halo in it, I think it would fail miserably. But that’s just me.

    • February 1, 2011 at 6:13 pm

      Hey, Gil! Thanks for the comment! I agree with your misgivings about a Kinect version of Halo. I try not to be a Kinect hater either, since it’s obviously not a product that was made with me personally in mind, but I have to say that it would be particularly difficult to implement some of the features we are used to with major title games like Halo.

      I’m sure a game like that, like an on-rail Halo-themed Kinect shooter, would be pretty successful, but not with core gamers. I just don’t think Kinect is for the core gamer.

      • 3 Gil
        February 2, 2011 at 10:34 am

        Totally agreed. The Kinect is a product made to appeal to the same masses that the Wii appealed to. I see the novelty in it and I’m sure I would enjoy the games that utilized it well. I just don’t see it as a viable accessory for some of the top named games on the system. Namely Halo and Gears of War. It would be next to impossible to get the same feel using (you) as the controller.

        I would feel like it’s an attempt to make the core gamers buy a Kinect to continue the Halo experience that many of us love. Nothing wrong with Microsoft trying to make more bucks from us gamers but it doesn’t sit well for me.

  2. April 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed
    reading it, you may be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down
    the road. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great
    work, have a nice afternoon!

  3. May 9, 2013 at 12:22 am

    I think the admin of this site is really working hard for
    his web site, for the reason that here every information
    is quality based data.

  4. November 2, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your
    content. Please let me know. Cheers

  5. October 9, 2014 at 4:48 am

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is only placing the other person’s
    blog link onn your page at proper place and other persin wiill also do same
    in support of you.


Leave a Reply

